Place: Hull
Theme: The Sawmills
Year: 1897
Related Vignette(s):

1867-1960 - The Sawmills
Vignette
C9
The whining saws of the Chaudières Falls

Panoramic view of the centre of Hull and of the industrial buildings of the Chaudières Falls before the Great Fire of 1900.
Panoramic view of the centre of Hull and of the industrial buildings of the Chaudières Falls before the Great Fire of 1900.
Panoramic view of the E.B. Eddy Company buildings and of the Commons Park, around 1897. In the foreground, Montcalm Street, and at the bottom the trees that surround the E.B. Eddy Residence, nicknamed “Château Eddy” by the residents of the island of Hull. When rebuilt after the Hull Fire of 1900, it was given the name Standish Hall by E.B. Eddy. It was to become the most famous of the Hull-Ottawa hotels during the 1940s and 1950s.
Panoramic view of the E.B. Eddy Company buildings and of the Commons Park, around 1897. In the foreground, Montcalm Street, and at the bottom the trees that surround the E.B. Eddy Residence, nicknamed “Château Eddy” by the residents of the island of Hull. When rebuilt after the Hull Fire of 1900, it was given the name Standish Hall by E.B. Eddy. It was to become the most famous of the Hull-Ottawa hotels during the 1940s and 1950s.
Wood-piling grounds and wood piles at the Chaudières Falls, on the Quebec shore of the Ottawa River around 1880.
Wood-piling grounds and wood piles at the Chaudières Falls, on the Quebec shore of the Ottawa River around 1880.
Plunging view of the junction of Brewery Creek and the Ottawa River above the Chaudières Falls, and of the intersection of Taché Boulevard and Eddy Street leading to the Chaudières Bridge around 1925.
Plunging view of the junction of Brewery Creek and the Ottawa River above the Chaudières Falls, and of the intersection of Taché Boulevard and Eddy Street leading to the Chaudières Bridge around 1925.
Typical industrial buildings of the Chaudières Falls, around 1895, in this instance those of H. Crandall and Company.
Typical industrial buildings of the Chaudières Falls, around 1895, in this instance those of H. Crandall and Company.
Plan of the “Lower Village of Hull” including the City of Ottawa and the Chaudières Islands and Falls.
Plan of the “Lower Village of Hull” including the City of Ottawa and the Chaudières Islands and Falls.
Loading of planks and deals on a barge at the Chaudières Falls around 1873.
Loading of planks and deals on a barge at the Chaudières Falls around 1873.
This aerial photograph, taken from the Ontario side of the Ottawa River on September 22nd 1923, takes in the islands and factories of the Chaudières Falls as well as the Quebec and Ontario shoreline. In the foreground is the impressive Hemicycle Dam, the J.R. Booth Company Establishment bought by the E.B. Eddy Company in 1943, and the log-booms used to sort the logs above the Falls.
This aerial photograph, taken from the Ontario side of the Ottawa River on September 22nd 1923, takes in the islands and factories of the Chaudières Falls as well as the Quebec and Ontario shoreline. In the foreground is the impressive Hemicycle Dam, the J.R. Booth Company Establishment bought by the E.B. Eddy Company in 1943, and the log-booms used to sort the logs above the Falls.
View of part of the sawmills of the Chaudières Falls. In the background, as far as the eye can see, are wood-piles of planks and deals.
View of part of the sawmills of the Chaudières Falls. In the background, as far as the eye can see, are wood-piles of planks and deals.
Plunging view of Chaudière, Victoria and Albert Islands and of the LeBreton Flats, around 1940, on the Ontario side of the Chaudières Falls. In those days, this sector of Ottawa known as LeBreton Flats was a very important industrial zone.
Plunging view of Chaudière, Victoria and Albert Islands and of the LeBreton Flats, around 1940, on the Ontario side of the Chaudières Falls. In those days, this sector of Ottawa known as LeBreton Flats was a very important industrial zone.
A section of Booth Street, near the entrance to Victoria Island around 1920. Beyond the tramways, to the north can be seen the main gate of the J.R. Booth factories and the Chaudière Bridge.
A section of Booth Street, near the entrance to Victoria Island around 1920. Beyond the tramways, to the north can be seen the main gate of the J.R. Booth factories and the Chaudière Bridge.
Ezra Butler Eddy on his horse on the grounds of what was to become the Standish Hall Hotel, around 1905, a short time before his death which occurred in 1906. A native of the state of Vermont, he was born in 1827, just like J.R. Booth. This ingenious and visionary businessman was also active in politics, at the municipal and provincial levels, on the Quebec side of the Ottawa River.
Ezra Butler Eddy on his horse on the grounds of what was to become the Standish Hall Hotel, around 1905, a short time before his death which occurred in 1906. A native of the state of Vermont, he was born in 1827, just like J.R. Booth. This ingenious and visionary businessman was also active in politics, at the municipal and provincial levels, on the Quebec side of the Ottawa River.
John Rudolphus Booth, the industrial magnate, was born in Waterloo, Quebec in 1827 and died in Ottawa in 1925. He built his fortune in the forest industry and in the railroad business.
John Rudolphus Booth, the industrial magnate, was born in Waterloo, Quebec in 1827 and died in Ottawa in 1925. He built his fortune in the forest industry and in the railroad business.

The Outaouais forest industry was subjected to major changes in the second half of the nineteenth century. The signing of the Reciprocity Treaty with the United States of America in 1854 opened the American market to the lumber producers of Canada and especially of the Ottawa River Valley. This trade slowly replaced the declining British market1. Sawn lumber took over from square timber and became the dominant Canadian wood trade. That trend accelerates the industrialization process by giving birth to the large sawmilling trade of the Ottawa Valley and of the Chaudières Falls in particular. It began the building of sawn lumber industrial establishments at the Chaudières Falls, between Gatineau (Hull) and Ottawa (Bytown), and all along the Ottawa River by American investors who wanted to supply the American demand for sawn lumber. Those investments had a snowball effect. The old sawmills of the Ottawa Valley were revamped and their production increased accordingly. Towns like Quyon, Fort-Coulonge, Pembroke, Braeside, Aylmer, Buckingham, North Nation Mills, Hawkesbury, and a number of others experienced economic prosperity and an important increase in their population.

Before the arrival of American investors at the Chaudières Falls in the early 1850s, only three firms made use of the hydraulic power of the falls. As soon as they settled in the Township of Hull around 1800, the Wrights built a sawmill, a gristmill and a forge at the Chaudières. It was only in 1837; however, that Daniel McLachlin laid the foundations of his flour mill on one of the islands located to the South of the falls, and in 1842 that Philip Thompson and John Perkins build their gristmill and sawmill at the same place.2 These two establishments were set up on lots rented from the Government, just like most of the large sawmills built by American investors at the Chaudières. The amazing industrial development of the Chaudières Falls can be traced back to the building of a dam and diversion canals and to the setting up of hydraulic water lots on the south side of the Ottawa River by the Government. The Americans, who had money to invest, were quick to seize the opportunity. They rented a good number of these industrial water lots on 21-year leases3.

The building of the Bytown and Prescott Railway, completed in 1854, was the Americans’ first major investment in the Ottawa area. At the same time they are drawing up plans to enter into the sawn-lumber industry. The first to do so were Levi Youn, in 1851; J.J. Harris and H.F. Bronson in 1852; and W.G. Perley and C.B. Pattee in 18534. At about the same time, Ezra Butler Eddy came up from Vermont in 1851 and John Rudolphus Booth, from Waterloo, in the Eastern Townships in 18535. Both will have a brilliant future in the Ottawa Valley’s forest industry.

By 1856, the Chaudières Falls were totally changed. P.G. Thompson’s sawmill was enlarged to have 27 upright saws and one circular saw, whereas Young, Wynn and Company had 21 uprights. In comparison, Harris and Bronson, the largest producer reported to have 74 upright saws and four circulars in activity and had the facilities for 70 more upright saws. At the same time, the Blasdell and Company firm was setting up an impressive sawmill on Chaudière Island. Beset by financial difficulties however, the Blasdell brothers sold out their interests to A.H. Baldwin6. These developments, as well as many others, raised the Ottawa-Hull area’s production of sawn-lumber from 20 to 25 million board feet of lumber in 1859 to 100 million board feet in 18687 (image). Meanwhile, the entrepreneurial spirit and clear-sightedness of J.R. Booth and E.B. Eddy paid off so much so that in 1871 both of them occupied preferred positions in the lumber trade. As surprising as it may seem, the Ottawa Valley’s sawn-lumber production actually increased, despite the economic depression that dragged down the lumber industry as a whole from the end of the 1870s to the beginning of the 1890s. (image) The Ottawa-Hull area’s lumber production, which peaked in 1896, began to free fall at the beginning of the twentieth century8. The Ottawa Valley’s availability of good quality timber reserves were practically exhausted and the British Columbia production gradually took over9. The visionary Ezra Butler Eddy foresaw that evolution. In 1889, he built the region’s first sulphite pulp mill10, on the site of today’s Canadian Museum of Civilization.

Search the Web!
Read-up on the life of these great men of the Lumber Trade Era in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography:

William Goodhue Perley at:
Website

Henry Franklin Bronson at:
Website

John Rudolphus Booth at:
Website

Ezra Butler Eddy at:
Website

References and definitions

1 Ibid., pages 41-42.

2 Ibid., page 42. For a well-documented biography of J.R. Booth see : C.F. Coons, “The John R. Booth Story”, in Your Forests, Vol. 11, No 2, (Summer 1978), Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Forest Management Branch, Toronto, pages 8-26.

3 Ibid., page 41.

4 Ibid., pages 41-42.

5 Ibid., page 42. For a well-documented biography of J.R. Booth see : C.F. Coons, “The John R. Booth Story”, in Your Forests, Vol. 11, No 2, (Summer 1978), Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Forest Management Branch, Toronto, pages 8-26.

6 John W. Hughson and Courtney C. J. Bond, Op. cit., pages 42-43.

7 Ibid., page 44.

8 For an overview of the forest industry in the Ottawa Region in 1896, see: The Timber Trades Journal and Sawmill Advertiser, Vol. XLII (42), No 1 069, February 20, 1897.

9 William L. Marr et Donald G. Paterson, Canada: An Economic History, Toronto, Macmillan of Canada, 1980, page 363.

10 John W. Hughson and Courtney C. J. Bond, Op. cit., page 47.

Secondary media sources and captions

PHOTO No 1
Source: Library and Archives Canada, C 6629. Photographer : William Topley.
Caption: Panoramic view of the centre of Hull and of the industrial buildings of the Chaudières Falls before the Great Fire of 1900.

PHOTO No 2
Source: Pierre Louis Lapointe Collection. Photographer: Lancefield, Ottawa.
Caption: Panoramic view of the E.B. Eddy Company buildings and of the Commons Park, around 1897. In the foreground, Montcalm Street, and at the bottom the trees that surround the E.B. Eddy Residence, nicknamed “Château Eddy” by the residents of the island of Hull. When rebuilt after the Hull Fire of 1900, it was given the name Standish Hall by E.B. Eddy. It was to become the most famous of the Hull-Ottawa hotels during the 1940s and 1950s.

PHOTO No 3
Source: Library and Archives Canada, PA 012528. Photographer : William Topley.
Caption: Wood-piling grounds and wood piles at the Chaudières Falls, on the Quebec shore of the Ottawa River around 1880.

PHOTO No 4
Source: Pierre Louis Lapointe Collection. Aerial photograph: Airmaps Company Limited.
Caption: Plunging view of the junction of Brewery Creek and the Ottawa River above the Chaudières Falls, and of the intersection of Taché Boulevard and Eddy Street leading to the Chaudières Bridge around 1925.

PHOTO No 5
Source: Library and Archives Canada, C 2208. Photographer: William Topley.
Caption: Typical industrial buildings of the Chaudières Falls, around 1895, in this instance those of H. Crandall and Company.

PHOTO No 6
Source: Pierre Louis Lapointe Collection. Plan of the Village of Hull and of the City of Ottawa by W. A. Austin.
Caption: Plan of the “Lower Village of Hull” including the City of Ottawa and the Chaudières Islands and Falls.

PHOTO No 7
Source: Notman Photographic Archives, McCord Museum.
Caption: Loading of planks and deals on a barge at the Chaudières Falls around 1873.

PHOTO No 8
Source: Pierre Louis Lapointe Collection. Aerial photograph.
Caption: This aerial photograph, taken from the Ontario side of the Ottawa River on September 22nd 1923, takes in the islands and factories of the Chaudières Falls as well as the Quebec and Ontario shoreline. In the foreground is the impressive Hemicycle Dam, the J.R. Booth Company Establishment bought by the E.B. Eddy Company in 1943, and the log-booms used to sort the logs above the Falls.

PHOTO No 9
Source: Library and Archives Canada, PA-27215.
Caption: View of part of the sawmills of the Chaudières Falls. In the background, as far as the eye can see, are wood-piles of planks and deals.

PHOTO No 10
Source: Pierre Louis Lapointe Collection. Aerial photograph.
Caption: Plunging view of Chaudière, Victoria and Albert Islands and of the LeBreton Flats, around 1940, on the Ontario side of the Chaudières Falls. In those days, this sector of Ottawa known as LeBreton Flats was a very important industrial zone.

PHOTO No 11
Source: Pierre Louis Lapointe Collection. Photographer unknown.
Caption: A section of Booth Street, near the entrance to Victoria Island around 1920. Beyond the tramways, to the north can be seen the main gate of the J.R. Booth factories and the Chaudière Bridge.

PHOTO No 12
Source: City of Gatineau Archives, Call No V-12-719. Photographer unknown.
Caption: Ezra Butler Eddy on his horse on the grounds of what was to become the Standish Hall Hotel, around 1905, a short time before his death which occurred in 1906. A native of the state of Vermont, he was born in 1827, just like J.R. Booth. This ingenious and visionary businessman was also active in politics, at the municipal and provincial levels, on the Quebec side of the Ottawa River.

PHOTO No 13
Source: Pierre Louis Lapointe Collection. Photographer unknown.
Caption: John Rudolphus Booth, the industrial magnate, was born in Waterloo, Quebec in 1827 and died in Ottawa in 1925. He built his fortune in the forest industry and in the railroad business.

Localisation : Hull
Thème : Les scieries
Année : 1897
Capsule(s) reliée(s) :

1867-1960 - Les scieries
Capsule
C9
Les scies hurlantes des Chaudières

Mosaïque panoramique du centre de Hull et des bâtiments industriels des Chaudières à la veille du Grand Feu de 1900
Mosaïque panoramique du centre de Hull et des bâtiments industriels des Chaudières à la veille du Grand Feu de 1900
Vue panoramique des bâtiments de la Cie E.B. Eddy et du parc de la Commune vers 1897. En avant-plan, la rue Montcalm et, en bas, les arbres qui entourent la résidence d’Ezra Butler Eddy, baptisée « Château Eddy » par les résidents de l’Île de Hull. Lorsqu’elle est reconstruite au lendemain du Grand Feu de 1900, E.B. Eddy lui donne le nom de « Standish Hall ». Le bâtiment deviendra l’hôtel le plus réputé de la région de Hull et d’Ottawa dans les années 1940 et 1950.
Vue panoramique des bâtiments de la Cie E.B. Eddy et du parc de la Commune vers 1897. En avant-plan, la rue Montcalm et, en bas, les arbres qui entourent la résidence d’Ezra Butler Eddy, baptisée « Château Eddy » par les résidents de l’Île de Hull. Lorsqu’elle est reconstruite au lendemain du Grand Feu de 1900, E.B. Eddy lui donne le nom de « Standish Hall ». Le bâtiment deviendra l’hôtel le plus réputé de la région de Hull et d’Ottawa dans les années 1940 et 1950.
Empilements de planches, aux chutes Chaudières, sur la rive québécoise de la rivière des Outaouais, vers 1880
Empilements de planches, aux chutes Chaudières, sur la rive québécoise de la rivière des Outaouais, vers 1880
Vue en plongée de l’intersection du ruisseau de la Brasserie et de la rivière des Outaouais en amont des chutes des Chaudières ainsi que du boulevard Taché, de la rue Eddy et du pont des Chaudières vers 1925.
Vue en plongée de l’intersection du ruisseau de la Brasserie et de la rivière des Outaouais en amont des chutes des Chaudières ainsi que du boulevard Taché, de la rue Eddy et du pont des Chaudières vers 1925.
Bâtiments industriels typiques des chutes des Chaudières vers 1895, en l’occurrence ceux de la compagnie H. Crandall and Company
Bâtiments industriels typiques des chutes des Chaudières vers 1895, en l’occurrence ceux de la compagnie H. Crandall and Company
Plan du « Lower Village of Hull » incluant la ville d’Ottawa et les îles de la chute des Chaudières
Plan du « Lower Village of Hull » incluant la ville d’Ottawa et les îles de la chute des Chaudières
Chargement de planches et de madriers sur une barge aux chutes des chaudières, vers 1873
Chargement de planches et de madriers sur une barge aux chutes des chaudières, vers 1873
Cette photographie aérienne, prise de la rive ontarienne le 22 septembre 1923, englobe d'un coup d'œil les îles et les usines des chutes des Chaudières ainsi que les rives québécoise et ontarienne. En avant-plan, le grand barrage en hémicycle, les installations de la Cie J.R. Booth, acquises par la compagnie E.B. Eddy en 1943, et les estacades servant au tri du bois en amont des chutes.
Cette photographie aérienne, prise de la rive ontarienne le 22 septembre 1923, englobe d'un coup d'œil les îles et les usines des chutes des Chaudières ainsi que les rives québécoise et ontarienne. En avant-plan, le grand barrage en hémicycle, les installations de la Cie J.R. Booth, acquises par la compagnie E.B. Eddy en 1943, et les estacades servant au tri du bois en amont des chutes.
Vue d’une partie des scieries des chutes des Chaudières avec, en arrière-plan, des empilements de planches et de madriers à perte de vue.
Vue d’une partie des scieries des chutes des Chaudières avec, en arrière-plan, des empilements de planches et de madriers à perte de vue.
Vue en plongée des îles Chaudière, Victoria et Albert et des plaines LeBreton, vers 1940, sur la rive ontarienne des chutes des Chaudières. Ce secteur d’Ottawa, connu sous le nom de « LeBreton Flats », est alors une zone industrielle importante d’Ottawa.
Vue en plongée des îles Chaudière, Victoria et Albert et des plaines LeBreton, vers 1940, sur la rive ontarienne des chutes des Chaudières. Ce secteur d’Ottawa, connu sous le nom de « LeBreton Flats », est alors une zone industrielle importante d’Ottawa.
Section de la rue Booth, près de l’entrée de l’île Victoria, vers 1920. Plus loin, au nord, au-delà des tramways, se trouvent le portail des usines de J.R. Booth et le pont des Chaudières.
Section de la rue Booth, près de l’entrée de l’île Victoria, vers 1920. Plus loin, au nord, au-delà des tramways, se trouvent le portail des usines de J.R. Booth et le pont des Chaudières.
Ezra Butler Eddy, sur son cheval, dans la cour du futur hôtel Standish Hall, vers 1905, peu de temps avant sa mort survenue en 1906. Originaire du Vermont, il est né en 1827 comme J.R. Booth. Cet homme d’affaires ingénieux se mêle également de politique, aux niveaux municipal et provincial, sur la rive québécoise de l’Outaouais.
Ezra Butler Eddy, sur son cheval, dans la cour du futur hôtel Standish Hall, vers 1905, peu de temps avant sa mort survenue en 1906. Originaire du Vermont, il est né en 1827 comme J.R. Booth. Cet homme d’affaires ingénieux se mêle également de politique, aux niveaux municipal et provincial, sur la rive québécoise de l’Outaouais.
Le magnat industriel John Rudolphus Booth, né près de Waterloo, au Québec, en 1827 et décédé à Ottawa en 1925. Il fait fortune dans l’industrie du bois et dans les chemins de fer.
Le magnat industriel John Rudolphus Booth, né près de Waterloo, au Québec, en 1827 et décédé à Ottawa en 1925. Il fait fortune dans l’industrie du bois et dans les chemins de fer.

L’industrie forestière de l’Outaouais subit une énorme transformation dans la deuxième moitié du dix-neuvième siècle. La signature du traité de Réciprocité avec les Etats-Unis d’Amérique en 1854, ouvre aux producteurs du Canada et de la vallée de l’Outaouais surtout, un énorme débouché qui prend graduellement la relève du marché britannique qui est en déclin.1 Le bois de sciage remplace le bois «carré» et domine dorénavant la production canadienne. Ce développement accélère considérablement l’industrialisation en donnant naissance aux grandes scieries de la vallée de l’Outaouais et à celles des Chutes Chaudières en particulier C’est ce qui donne le signal du début de la construction des grandes scieries industrielles des chutes Chaudières, entre Gatineau (Hull) et Ottawa (Bytown), et ailleurs, tout le long de la rivière des Outaouais, par des investisseurs américains qui veulent répondre à la demande du marché américain pour du bois de sciage. Ces investissements considérables ont un effet d’entraînement. Les anciennes scieries sont modernisées et leur production est accrue en conséquence. Des localités comme Quyon, Fort-Coulonge, Pembroke, Braeside, Aylmer, Buckingham, North Nation Mills, Hawkesbury, et plusieurs autres connaissent une période de prospérité économique et une importante augmentation de leur population.

Avant l’arrivée des investisseurs américains aux Chaudières au début des années 1850, il n’y a que trois entreprises qui se servent du pouvoir hydraulique de ces chutes. Dès leur arrivée dans le canton de Hull, vers 1800, les Wright y installent une scierie, un moulin à farine et une forge. Ce n’est qu’en 1837 cependant que Daniel McLachlin établit son moulin à farine sur une des îles situées au sud des chutes Chaudières, et en 1842, que Philip Thompson et John Perkins y construisent une meunerie et une scierie2. Ces deux entreprises sont érigées sur des terrains louées du gouvernement, tout comme le seront la plupart des grandes scieries construites aux chutes Chaudières par les investisseurs américains. Le prodigieux développement industriel des Chaudières est en effet attribuable à la construction d’un barrage et de canaux de dérivation et à l’aménagement de lots hydrauliques au sud de la rivière des Outaouais. Les Américains, qui ont de l’argent à investir, sautent sur l’occasion. Ils se font locataires à bail de ces sites industriels, loués pour une période de 21 ans3.

La construction du chemin de fer Bytown et Prescott, terminé en 1854, est le premier investissement d’importance des Américains dans la région d’Ottawa.  Parallèlement, ils préparent leur entrée dans l’industrie des sciages. Les premiers arrivés sont Levi Young, en 1851, J.J. Harris et H.F. Bronson, en 1852, et W.G. Perley et C.B. Pattee en 18534. C’est au même moment que débarquent en région Ezra Butler Eddy, venu du Vermont en 1851, et John Rudolphus Booth, arrivé de Waterloo en 18535. Tous deux vont connaître un brillant avenir dans l’industrie forestière de l’Outaouais.

En 1856, les chutes Chaudières sont totalement transformées. La scierie de P.G. Thompson, agrandie, a 27 scies verticales en activité tandis que Young, Wynn et Compagnie en ont 21. En comparaison, Harris et Bronson, le producteur le plus important, rapporte 74 scies verticales et quatre scies circulaires en activité et se dit prêt à ajouter un autre 70 scies verticales à son moulin. Au même moment, la compagnie Blasdell érige une imposante scierie sur l’île Chaudière. Des difficultés financières obligent cependant les frères Blasdell à vendre leurs intérêts à A.H. Baldwin6. Ces développements, et bien d’autres, font passer la production de bois de sciage de la région Ottawa-Hull de 20 à 25 millions de pieds de planche en 1859 à 100 millions de pieds en 18687. (image) Entretemps, l’esprit d’entreprise de J.R. Booth et E.B. Eddy fait son œuvre, de telle sorte qu’en 1871, ils occupent une place de choix dans l’industrie du bois. Aussi étonnant que cela puisse paraître, ces chiffres connaissent une hausse malgré la dépression économique qui frappe l’industrie du bois, de la fin des années 1870 jusqu’au début des années 1890 (image). La production de bois de la région Ottawa-Hull, qui est à son meilleur en 1896, est en chute libre au début du vingtième siècle8. Les réserves de bois de bonne qualité du bassin de l’Outaouais sont pratiquement épuisées et c’est la production de la Colombie britannique qui prend peu à peu la relève9.  Le brillant Ezra Butler Eddy prévoit cette évolution !  En 1889, il fait construire la première usine de pâte chimique de la région10, sur le site actuel du Musée canadien des Civilisations.

Allez plus loin sur le web!
Plongez-vous dans la vie de ces grands hommes de l’industrie forestière en parcourant leur biographie dans le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne :

William Goodhue Perley à :
Site Web

Henry Franklin Bronson à :
Site Web

John Rudolphus Booth à :
Site Web

Ezra Butler Eddy à :
Site Web

Références et définitions

1 John W. Hughson et Courtney C. J. Bond, Hurling Down the Pine, Chelsea, The Historical Society of the Gatineau, 1987, page 43.

2 Ibid., pages 35, 37 et 41.

3 Ibid., page 41.

4 Ibid., pages 41-42.

5 Ibid., page 42.  Pour une biographie fort bien documentée de J.R. Booth, voir : C.F. Coons, « The John R. Booth Story », dans Your Forests, Vol. 11, No 2, (Summer 1978), Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Forest Management Branch, Toronto, pages 8-26.

6 John W. Hughson et Courtney C. J. Bond, Op. cit., pages 42-43.

7 Ibid., page 44.

8 Pour un survol de l’industrie du bois dans la région d’Ottawa en 1896, voir : The Timber Trades Journal and Sawmill Advertiser, Vol. XLII (42), No 1 069, 20 février 1897.

9 William L. Marr et Donald G. Paterson, Canada: An Economic History, Toronto, Macmillan of Canada, 1980, page 363.

10 John W. Hughson et Courtney C. J. Bond, Op. cit., page 47.

Sources et légendes des médias secondaires

PHOTO No 1
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C 6629. Photographe : William Topley.
Légende : Mosaïque panoramique du centre de Hull et des bâtiments industriels des Chaudières à la veille du Grand Feu de 1900

PHOTO No 2
Source : Collection Pierre Louis Lapointe. Photographe : Lancefield, Ottawa.
Légende : Vue panoramique des bâtiments de la Cie E.B. Eddy et du parc de la Commune vers 1897. En avant-plan, la rue Montcalm et, en bas, les arbres qui entourent la résidence d’Ezra Butler Eddy, baptisée « Château Eddy » par les résidents de l’Île de Hull. Lorsqu’elle est reconstruite au lendemain du Grand Feu de 1900, E.B. Eddy lui donne le nom de « Standish Hall ». Le bâtiment deviendra l’hôtel le plus réputé de la région de Hull et d’Ottawa dans les années 1940 et 1950.

PHOTO No 3
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, PA 012528. Photographe : William Topley.
Légende : Empilements de planches, aux chutes Chaudières, sur la rive québécoise de la rivière des Outaouais, vers 1880

PHOTO No 4
Source : Collection Pierre Louis Lapointe. Photographie aérienne de la compagnie Airmaps Limited.
Légende : Vue en plongée de l’intersection du ruisseau de la Brasserie et de la rivière des Outaouais en amont des chutes des Chaudières ainsi que du boulevard Taché, de la rue Eddy et du pont des Chaudières vers 1925.

PHOTO No 5
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C 2208. Photographe : William Topley.
Légende : Bâtiments industriels typiques des chutes des Chaudières vers 1895, en l’occurrence ceux de la compagnie H. Crandall and Company

PHOTO No 6
Source : Collection Pierre Louis Lapointe. Plan du village de Hull et de la ville d’Ottawa de W. A. Austin.
Légende : Plan du « Lower Village of Hull » incluant la ville d’Ottawa et les îles de la chute des Chaudières

PHOTO No 7
Source : Archives photographiques Notman, Musée McCord.
Légende : Chargement de planches et de madriers sur une barge aux chutes des chaudières, vers 1873

PHOTO No 8
Source : Collection Pierre Louis Lapointe. Photographie aérienne.
Légende : Cette photographie aérienne, prise de la rive ontarienne le 22 septembre 1923, englobe d’un coup d’œil les îles et les usines des chutes des Chaudières ainsi que les rives québécoise et ontarienne. En avant-plan, le grand barrage en hémicycle, les installations de la Cie J.R. Booth, acquises par la compagnie E.B. Eddy en 1943, et les estacades servant au tri du bois en amont des chutes.

PHOTO No 9
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, PA-27215.
Légende : Vue d’une partie des scieries des chutes des Chaudières avec, en arrière-plan, des empilements de planches et de madriers à perte de vue.

PHOTO No 10
Source : Collection Pierre Louis Lapointe. Photographie aérienne.
Légende : Vue en plongée des îles Chaudière, Victoria et Albert et des plaines LeBreton, vers 1940, sur la rive ontarienne des chutes des Chaudières. Ce secteur d’Ottawa, connu sous le nom de « LeBreton Flats », est alors une zone industrielle importante d’Ottawa.

PHOTO No 11
Source : Collection Pierre Louis Lapointe. Photographe inconnu.
Légende : Section de la rue Booth, près de l’entrée de l’île Victoria, vers 1920. Plus loin, au nord, au-delà des tramways, se trouvent le portail des usines de J.R. Booth et le pont des Chaudières.

PHOTO No 12
Source : Archives de la Ville de Gatineau, cote V-12-719. Photographe inconnu.
Légende : Ezra Butler Eddy, sur son cheval, dans la cour du futur hôtel Standish Hall, vers 1905, peu de temps avant sa mort survenue en 1906. Originaire du Vermont, il est né en 1827 comme J.R. Booth. Cet homme d’affaires ingénieux se mêle également de politique, aux niveaux municipal et provincial, sur la rive québécoise de l’Outaouais.

PHOTO No 13
Source : Collection Pierre Louis Lapointe. Photographe inconnu.
Légende : Le magnat industriel John Rudolphus Booth, né près de Waterloo, au Québec, en 1827 et décédé à Ottawa en 1925. Il fait fortune dans l’industrie du bois et dans les chemins de fer.